Walnut Hill School for the Arts STUDENT AWARDS 2020





BOOK AWARDS

Dartmouth Book Award

The Dartmouth Book Award is given to a student in the top IO% of the junior class. They have attained an outstanding combined academic average in three college-preparatory subjects, two of which include Mathematics and English. Above all, the selected student has demonstrated outstanding leadership in a highly visible, school sponsored activity and/or service to the community.

This year's recipient: Caroline Connolly '21

Wellesley College Book Award

The Wellesley College Book Award honors a female student completing her junior year who has an outstanding academic record and has also made significant personal contributions to her school and/or community.

This year's recipient: Annie Zhu '21

Yale Book Award

The Yale Book Award is awarded to a member of the junior class who is being recognized for outstanding personal character and intellectual promise.

This year's recipient: Leo Capurso '21

Williams College Book Award

The Williams College Book Award honors a member of the granting school's junior class who has demonstrated intellectual leadership and made significant contributions to the extracurricular life of their schools.

This year's recipient: Ellie Flacke '21



ESSAYS

Each year the faculty of the Humanities department recognizes student essays that exemplify these skills in three categories: two analytical essays one from the 9th or 10th grade and one from the 11th or 12th grade. As well, we recognize excellence in the writing of the personal essay.

Lower School Analytical Essay: Sam D'Amico '22 Upper School Analytical Essay: Luke Baltay '21 Personal Essay: Caroline Connelly, Annie Zhu '21



ZAIDAN PRIZE

The Joseph Zaidan Prize is given to a creative writer or filmmaker, at any level, who demonstrates an unwavering commitment to the engagement with and development of their craft.

This year's recipients: Caroline Solakian '21 & Annie Zhu '21



ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTAL HONORS

There are two awards given by each academic department – one for achievement and one for scholarship. Achievement recognizes the student who has demonstrated the highest level of skill and knowledge in a discipline over their Walnut Hill career. The Scholarship award recognizes the student who has modeled exemplary thinking, habits, and engagement in the discipline this year.

SCIENCE

Achievement - Taylor Wang '20 Scholarship - Olivia Shrenzel '20

MATH

Achievement - Grace Sellers '20 Scholarship - Caroline Solakian '21

ENGLISH

Achievement - Taylor Wang '20 Scholarship - Clara Vegas '20 and Alexandra McKelvy '20

HISTORY

Achievement - Ziyan Jiang '20 Scholarship - Caroline Solakian '21

FRENCH

Achievement - Alexandra McKelvy '20 Scholarship - Kannen Glanz '20

SPANISH

Achievement - Rachel Aveni '21 Scholarship - Katherine Farrar '20

ELL

Achievement - Qianyu "Yuki" Huang '22 Scholarship - Xiner "Lisa" Wang '22



ARTS DEPARTMENTAL HONORS

The following students have been nominated by the faculty in their artistic discipline for their excellent work, their diligence, their enthusiasm for discovery, and - most of all - their outstanding character to make the world an accepting and vibrant place for everyone's ideas to flourish. These departmental awards signify the highest honor in each arts discipline at Walnut Hill.

WFMA

Mia Swann '20

DANCE

Kannen Glanz '20

MUSIC

Jie-Ling Tang '20 and Sam Childs '20

VISUAL ARTS

All Senior Visual Art Students

THEATER

Clara Vegas '20



CONANT & BIGELOW SOCIETIES

HONORS: Bigelow Society

Students with one or more grades of B or B+ but with no grade lower than a B become members of the Bigelow Society. They must maintain their excellence in subsequent years to remain in the Bigelow Society. Seniors who are qualified members of the Bigelow Society for their last four semesters of school graduate with Honors. 2020 Inductees of the Bigelow Society:

Isabella Amoruso '20 Isabella Bardos '20 Katherine Farrar '20 James Gagnon '20 Katharine Herlihy '20 Jianing Huang '20 Heesung Kim '20 Shijia Liu '20 Lejla Raven Martin '20 Imogen Morehouse '20 Aaron Povenmire '20 Nathaniel Sheehan '20 Payton Shepardson '20 Olivia Shrenzel '20 Alanna Sinopoli '20 Hadley Sparks '20 Yiming Tang '20 Bryn Taylor '20 Clara Vegas '20 Ruisi Wu '20 Youyi Wu '20 Victor Xue '20 Qianrui Zhou '20

HIGH HONORS: Conant Society

Students with all A's or A-'s during the school year are inducted into the Conant Society. Students must maintain their excellence in subsequent years to remain in the Conant Society. Seniors who are qualified members of the Conant Society for the last four semesters graduate with High Honors. 2020 Inductees of the Bigelow Society:

Charlene Cheuk Laam Cheung '20 Grace Eberts '20 Kannen Glanz '20 Ziyan Jiang '20 Kana Kishimoto '20 Wanye Lyu '20 Madison McCluskey '20 Alexandra McKelvy '20 Naamah Romano '20 Grace Sellers '20 Yuhan Sheng '20 Sara Smoliar '20 Jie-Ling Tang '20 Taylor Wang '20



CATHERINE T. CHAN AWARD

This award is presented to an international student in grade II or I2 who surmounts language and cultural boundaries, promotes intercultural understanding, and is an active role model and mentor for other international students.

This year's recipient: Ameir Taylor '21



JOANNA RAPPAPORT '96 AWARD

This award was established to honor the memory of Joanna, a theater major at Walnut Hill who passed away in 2002. This award is presented annually to a senior who has shown notable resilience and determination in overcoming the personal challenges that so many young adults face.

This year's recipient: Imogen Morehouse '20



FRIENDSHIP AWARD

This award recognizes the student in the senior class whose general cheerfulness can transcend difficulties, whose interest in and consideration for others is genuine and constant, and whose general demeanor is positive, outgoing and sincere.

This year's recipient: Katherine Herlihy '20



HESTER R. DAVIES CITIZENSHIP CUP AWARD

This cup was first presented to Walnut Hill School in 1958 by Catherine Howell Susanin ('54) and Sherry Howell Hatch ('52) in honor of Miss Hester Davies, Principal of Walnut Hill from 1932-1953. In establishing this award the donors specified: "The cup is to be awarded to the student in the senior class who has contributed himself to help others and has tried to uphold the standards and traditions of Walnut Hill School. Academic achievement is to have no bearing on the decision."

This year's recipient: Mia Swann '20



ARNOLD C. TAYLOR AWARD FOR ACADEMIC AND ARTISTIC ACHIEVEMENT

Arnold Taylor was a teacher and administrator at Walnut Hill for many years and was a man who served the school loyally and well until his untimely death here at school in the summer of 1984. At various points in his career, Mr. Taylor served as acting Headmaster, Dean of Students, and administrative dean. He also taught English, painting, sculpture, and art history. He was a man of broad interests and accomplishments who was himself a fine painter and sculptor, and as well a lover of literature and language. He saw himself not as an artist or an academic, but as someone who sought to be both in his life and work. He felt that it was both possible and desirable to lead a balanced life, one that drew from both intellectual and artistic sensibilities. In his memory, this award is given each year to a Walnut Hill senior whose performance in Academics and the Arts is equally outstanding.

This year's recipient: Taylor Wang '20