

Annual Meeting Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Attending: Kristen Fraza, Sandy Horton, Emily Abedon, Irene Horton, Angela Flynn, Cendhi Arias, Amy Lupica, Kim Trant, Shanon Connor, Julie Parsons, Santana Sluss, Cheryl Fanti, Nick Terry, Kay Webber, Amy Orth, George Matouk, Cheryl Turnquist, Carly Keehn-Schupp, Jillian Torgan, Tamar Paull, Veronica Jutras, Geoff Griffin, Jacqui Ketner, Anthony Rust, Tulani Freeman, Marlon Henry, Sarah Bowman, Alexis Thompson, Rebecca Garfield, Eileen Sweeney Craddock, Heidi Buonanno, Katie Skar, Bill Talley, Josh Wynn, Danika Severino Wynn, Martha Baker, Lynn Bowman, Tom Cicatiello, Karen Cicatiello, Paola Martinez, Kate Mercurio, Afiya Samuel, Rob Howard, Nick Terry, Marianne Monte, Suzanne Pezzulli, Matt Hruska, Flossie Crisp, Jordan Frank, Carin Algava, Kim O'Donnell, Anne Marie Ticaric, Kim Mongeon, Erica Tonsgard, Lisa Newman-Paratore, Angela Alston, Carmen Garcia, Luke Anderson, Carly Allard, Maryanne Pieri, Chris Kahler, Eugene Johnson, Shelly DiPaola, Susan Reenan, Besenia Rodriguez, Amanda Riegel, Bridget Baird, Amy Cohen, Mike Isenberg, Ebbie Parsons, Ayana Parsons, Susan Hodgin, Norma Barsom-Morcos, Noni Thomas López, Clare Blackmer

Board Chair's Remarks

George Matouk

The Annual Meeting of the Corporation was called to order at 5:47pm by George Matouk, Board Chair. Mr. Matouk welcomed everyone to the meeting. He is excited about the new meeting format. Mr. Matouk shared some brief remarks on his time as a Gordon parent, trustee, and Board Chair.

Mr. Matouk asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the May 23, 2018 meeting. The motion was made and seconded and the minutes were approved.

Presentation of Slate and Election of Trustees and OfficersAmy Orth, Chair of the Trusteeship Committee

The work of the Trusteeship Committee is to ensure that the composition of the Board of Trustees reflects the diversity of the school's parent body and that members are able to actively participate in the creation and implementation of the strategic initiatives of the school. The Trusteeship Committee also recruits membership for the standing Board Committees. Ms. Orth thanked the members of the Committee for the thought and care they put into their duties.

The slate of officers for the 2019/2020 school year is the following: Amanda Riegel, Board Chair; Christopher Kahler, Jordan Frank and Anthony Rust, Vice Chairs; Marianne Monte, Treasurer; Noni Thomas López, Assistant Treasurer; and Eugene Johnson, '87, Secretary

Trustees for re-election for 2019 to 2022 are Damian Ewens, '90 and Amy Orth. Trustees for election for 2019 to 2022 are Stephen Del Sesto, Betsy Stubblefield Loucks, Katie Sklar, and Alexis Thompson. There is one more term trustee slot to be filled.

Ms. Orth asked for a motion to approve the slate of officers and trustees. The motion was made and seconded and the slate was approved.

Ms. Orth added that two of the Presidential Appointees will be Joshua Wynn and Shelly DiPaola. Two more appointees are allowed to be selected by the Board Chair. The Faculty Trustee will remain Cendhi Arias Henry who is entering her second of a three year term, and Cheryl Turnquist will be the GCA Representative.

Lastly, Ms. Orth offered reflections on each of the outgoing trustees: Heidi Buonanno, David Corsetti, Flossie Crisp, George Matouk, Bill Talley, and Jillian Torgan. A book has been chosen for each trustee and will be added to the library's collection in their honor. Ms. Orth thanked Frances Martindale for her care in choosing the titles.

Report for the Gordon Community Association *GCA Co-Presidents Jillian Torgan, Cheryl Turnquist*

Ms. Torgan thanked the dozens and dozens of volunteers who make all GCA events such an integral part of the life of the school. The culminating event of Carnival really does equal the GCA mission. Each and every GCA event is an opportunity for creating relationships and making Gordon, Gordon! None of it could be accomplished without the time and effort of volunteers.

Ms. Turnquist read aloud the slate of officers, GCA event committee chairs, and grade representatives:

Cheryl Turnquist, Carly Keehn-Schupp and Michelle Bean, Co-Presidents; Sejal Badre and Jaclyn Campos, Treasurers; Jennifer Grantham, Secretary; TC Rogers, Jessica Lopez and Karen Isenberg, Book Fair Co-Chairs; Harmony Bodurtha and Karen Kemp, Carnival Co-Chairs; Rachael Armenti and Kevin Lindamood, Free Money Co-Chairs; Angel Tucker, Anna Highsmith and Lauren Jordan, Photo Day Co-Chairs. The fall, winter and spring teacher appreciation lunches will be chaired, respectively, by Vera Ramos, Jessica Gomes and Vicky Vitello.

The Grade Representatives for the 2019/2020 school year will be: Aja Blanc, Nursery; Amelie Tartaglione, Preschool; Eva Agudelo, Young Kindergarten; Irene Horton, Kindergarten; Amanda Sturgeon, first grade; Sarah Mango, second grade; Serena Manny, third grade; Katie Thomas, fourth grade; Tulani Freeman, fifth grade; Laura Carlisle, sixth grade; Liz Henderson, seventh grade; and Lisa Newman Paratore, eighth grade.

Head's Remarks

Noni Thomas López

Dr. Thomas López thanked George Matouk for all of his hard work and dedication to the Board and to Gordon School. She is grateful to have had him leading the Board in her first year as Head of School. As this is the first school she has worked in that held an "annual meeting," she

appreciates that the Board and the administration were willing to see a change in the format. There is the formal purpose of the meeting for approving the slate of officers and trustees, but she is hoping that, going forward, this night will serve as a celebration of the closing of each school year. Dr. Thomas López wanted to find a way to bookend the excitement of the fall Waterfire event, so she leaned on Communication Director, Geoff Griffin who has created an amazing video that attempts to encapsulate the year. Following the video, Dr. Thomas López announced that the 100 for 100 Campaign has raised more than \$35,000 in just thirteen days. A toast was made to the incredible successes of the year.

The meeting ended at 6:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Clare Blackmer Assistant to the Head of School

Addendum: Meeting of the Corporation on September 23, 2019

Serena Manny was identified as a prospective trustee after the Annual Meeting in May. The bylaws require a vote to approve any new trustee. In addition to the Board of Trustees, attendance for the vote to approve Ms. Manny included school employees Kim Mongeon, Julie Parsons, Erica Tonsgard, Kay Webber, Shanon Connor, Afiya Samuel, Anne Marie Ticaric, Clare Blackmer, Lynn Bowman, Tom Cicatiello, Veronica Jutras and Paola Martinez. Absent trustees were asked for their approval via email. The minutes of the May 2019 Annual Meeting will be amended to include this vote.