NOOKSACK VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT #506 Regular Meeting

Visitors

June 21, 2018

Directors

Steve Jones, Chairman Randy Wright, Vice Chairman

Mark Olson Cheryl Thornton Jason Heutink

Mark Johnson, Supt./Secretary

Administrators

Cindy Stockwell

The regular meeting of the Nooksack Valley School Board of Directors was called to order by Chairman, Steve Jones, at 7:00 p.m. on June 21, 2018.

at 7:00 p.m. on June 21, 2018.

Randy Wright moved and Mark Olson seconded the motion to

approve the minutes of the May 17, 2018, regular meeting. M.C. 5-0

Mark Johnson and several board members commented on the positive graduation ceremony. Becky Robertson also sent a "thank you" card to the board for the educator of the year award.

Cheryl Thornton moved and Jason Heutink seconded the motion to approve the NWRDC Service Level Contract for the 2018-2019 school year.

M.C. 5-0

Randy Wright moved and Mark Olson seconded the motion to Accept the resignations of:

- a. Katrina Jean Jordan, Kindergarten Teacher, Nooksack Elementary
- b. Benjamin Halbert, Para Educator I, Nooksack Elementary.
- c. Abby Hulbert, 6th grade Language Arts teacher, Middle School
- d. Alyssa Ellingboe, Speech Language Pathologist, Everson Elementary
- e. Heather Bunker, Para Educator I, Everson Elementary Pre School
- f. Beth Anderson, Math Teacher, High School
- g. Vicki Walkinshaw, ELL Teacher, High School
- h. Cassie Feddema, Para Educator I, Middle School

M.C. 5-0

Cheryl Thornton moved and Jason Heutink seconded the motion to approve the employment for the 2018-2019 school year for:

- a. Phi Nguyen, Kindergarten Teacher, Nooksack Elementary
- b. Deanna Bozzo- Speech Language Pathologist, NVSD
- c. Dannielle Becker Kindergarten, Everson Elementary
 - i. One year only
- d. Mackenzie Granger, Third grade teacher, Sumas Elementary
- e. Megan Tran, Third grade teacher, Sumas Elementary
- f. Morgan Perry, Special Education Teacher, Middle school
- g. Leslie Dykstra, Life Skills Teacher, High School
- h. Kayla Wise, 1st grade teacher, Everson Elementary
 - i. Leave replacement only
- i. Haley Anderson, Fifth grade teacher, Nooksack Elementary
- j. Lisa McReynolds, School Counselor, High School

CALL TO ORDER

MINUTES APPROVED REGULAR MEETING

COMMUNICATIONS

2018-2019 NWRDC SERVICE AGREEMENT CONTRACT APPROVED

RESIGNATIONS ACCEPTED

EMPLOYMENT FOR THE 2018-2019 SCHOOL YEAR APPROVED

Regular Meeting Minutes Page 2 June 21, 2018

- k. Shannon Buckley, Health and Fitness, Middle School
 - i. .5 FTE- One year only
- 1. Rebecca Gibbons- Fifth grade teacher, Sumas Elementary
- m. McKenzie Conner, Second grade teacher, Everson Elementary
- n. Nichole Woodrich, Second grade teacher, Everson Elementary
 - i. 1.0 FTE through January 2019 then .4 FTE remainder of School year.

M.C. 5-0

Jason Heutink moved and Randy Wright seconded the motion to approve 2018-2019 District Calendar. M.C. 5-0

2018-2019 DISTRICT CALENDAR APPROVED

Mark Johnson reported on the status of the construction projects, the current budget, and several other items.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Vouchers audited and certified by the auditing officer and those expense reimbursement claims certified as required by law have been recorded on a listing made available to the Board. VOUCHERS AND PAYROLL PAYMENT APPROVED

As of the June 21, 2018, the Board on a motion by Randy Wright and a second by Cheryl Thornton and an unanimous vote does approve for payment the payroll and those vouchers included in the presented list and further described as follows: General Fund Check No. 121003 – 121003; total \$217.95; General Fund Check No. 121004 – 121026; total \$338,540.24; Capital Projects Fund Check No. 121027-121029; total \$224,000.74; General Fund Check No. 121030 – 121101; total \$70,487.14; Associated Student Body Check No. 121102-121129; total \$27,921.58; General Fund Check No. 121130 – 121207; total \$214,834.29; M.C. 5-0

VOUCHERS AND PAYROLL APPROVED

There was a short executive session from 8:05-8:15 to discuss collective bargaining.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Cheryl Thornton moved and Mark Olson seconded to approve non-union staff contracts for the 2018-2019 school year. M.C. 5-0

NON-UNION STAFF CONTRACTS FOR 2018-2019 SCHOOL

YEAR APPROVED

OTHER BUSINESS

Randy Wright moved and Jason Heutink seconded to approve Administrative staff contracts for the 2018-2019 school year. M.C. 5-0

ADMINISTRATIVE CONTRACTS FOR 2018-2019 SCHOOL YEAR APPROVED

Meeting adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

Chairman of the Board	Superintendent/Secretary