# Board Clips

#### SCHOOLS ROSEBURG

## Time & Location:

The July 10, 2019 School Board Meeting was held at 6:00 p.m. in the Administrative Office Board Room, located at 1419 NW Valley View Drive in Roseburg, Oregon



SUPERINTENDENT:

JARED P. CORDON

# Superintendent's Report:

Superintendent Cordon thanked the Board, staff and community for his warm welcome to the Roseburg community. Meetings with the board and staff have confirmed their shared conviction of ensuring that each student experiences the joy of learning, discovery, belonging, challenge, achievement and fulfillment during their time in our schools. The School Board and staff are passionate in their support of children, and Jared is looking forward to collaborating with the Board on vision and planning this summer.

#### **Next Board Meeting:**

August 14, 2019 6:00 p.m. Administrative Office Board Room 1419 NW Valley View Dr. Roseburg, Oregon

Action Items:

Superintendent Cordon was quite honored to administer the Oath of Office to our Board members re-elected at the May 2019 Special District Election:

- Joseph Garcia
- Micki Hall
- Rodney Cotton
- Charles Lee, and
- Rebecca Larson

Congratulations to our dedicated Board Members! The Board then approved the Consent Agenda that consisted of Minutes from the June 12th Board Meeting, June 20th Work Session and Special Meeting; Gifts to District; Surplus Items and the following hiring recommendations:

- Krystal Alvey, RHS Science Teacher;
- Sara Hanberg, PE Teacher at Melrose;
- Kristy Hiers, First Grade Teacher at Melrose;
- Ashley Hoogenstryd, First Grade Teacher at Fullerton IV;
- Jill Kraack, Teaching & Learning Support Specialist-Fullerton;
- Morgan McLain, Fifth Grade Teacher at Sunnyslope;
- Vikki Pennington, Teaching & Learning Support Specialist at Melrose; and
- Kathleena Younce, Third Grade Teacher at Green.

Also accepted were the following resignations:

- Kelsey Dage, Third Grade Teacher at Green Elementary; and
- Janai Redpath, RHS LRC position.

Congratulations to Joseph Garcia and Steve Patterson. appointed as Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively for 2019-2020. Thank you for your knowledge & guidance!

Annual Resolutions were approved including:

19-20-1: Designation of Jared Cordon as Clerk, and Chief Operations Officer, Cheryl Northam as the Deputy Clerk; and Bonding of Employees;

19-20-2: Designation of Cheryl Northam, COO, as Custodian of Funds, Use of Facsimile Signature and Authorization for Payment Obligations;

19-20-3: Designation of KDP CPAs LLP as official auditors of the District;

19-20-4: Designation of Bank of America, Wells Fargo, US Bank, Umpqua Bank, Cascade Community Federal Credit Union and the Oregon State Local Government Investment Pool as Depositories;

19-20-5: Designation of Dole Coalwell Attorneys as attorneys for the District;

19-20-6: Designation of Superintendent Jared Cordon as District Election Official;

19-20-7: Designation of Cheryl Northam, COO, as Budget Officer for the District, and The News Review as the newspaper for official publication notices; and

19-20-8: Designation of Superintendent Jared Cordon as the District's authorized

representative in applying for grant funds.

# Other Action Items:

Expenditure requests were approved as follows:

- 1. Purchase & installation of intercom and clock systems for Green and Winchester Schools in the amount of \$106,651 through SMEED Communication Services;
- Extension of the Sodexo Nutrition Services Contract for 2019-2020 with a 2.63% increase;
- Purchase & installation of security camera systems in the District up to \$150,000 from REECE Complete Security Solutions;
- Purchase of Wonder-Works K-3 Instructional Materials from McGraw Hill in the amount of \$52,653.60; and
- 5. Purchase of Middle School Health Instructional Materials also from McGraw Hill at a cost of \$53,014.50.

High School Accreditation:

RHS Principal, Jill Weber, shared results of the recent high school accreditation The accreditation process. team's findings confirmed areas that the school's instructional team already identified for improvement and confirmed the numerous successes to be proud of at Roseburg High.

## **School Board:**

Joseph Garcia, Chair Steve Patterson, Vice Chair **Rod Cotton** Micki Hall Rev. Howard Johnson Rebecca Larson Charles Lee