#### ROSEBURG PUBLIC SCHOOLS

### **Time & Location:**

The July 11th School Board Meeting was held at 6:00 p.m. in the Administrative Office Board Room located at 1419 NW Valley View Drive, Roseburg, Oregon.



#### SUPERINTENDENT:

GERRY C. WASHBURN ED.D.

## Superintendent's Report:

Dr. Washburn reported on the recent Supreme Court Janus ruling, requiring that the District cease Fair Share The Oregon deductions. Department of Transportation (ODOT) has notified the District of their intention to access right-of-way for improvement of the I-5 Exit 124 Signal Upgrades and Bellows Street Realign Section of the Pacific Highway in Douglas County. This project would direct traffic through the RHS parking lot during the time of construction. The District will closely monitor future developments as there understandable concern

#### **Next Board Meeting:**

August 8, 2018 6:00 p.m. Administrative Office Board Room 1419 NW Valley View Dr. Roseburg, Oregon. for outside traffic impacting operations at RHS, the hundreds of students who attend the school and school employees.

#### **Action Items:**

The Consent Agenda consisting of Minutes from May 9, May 23, June 13 and June 19, Gifts to the District, along with licensed staff recommendations for the 2018-2019 school year were approved, including:

- Shoshana Abramson, Fifth Grade Teacher at Fir Grove Elementary School;
- Allison Albee, First Grade Teacher at Green Elementary;
- Thuynga (Nikky)
  Barr, RHS Special
  Education Teacher;
- Mandy Colvin, Fourth Grade Teacher at Eastwood Elementary School;
- Rebecca Ibarra, Math Teacher at Fremont Middle School;
- Elaine Logan, Special Education Teacher at Fir Grove Elementary;
- Jessica Monday, TOSA—Online Learning Facilitator at Rose School;
- Jennifer O'Toole, TOSA - Program and Student Management, Fullerton IV and Melrose Elementary Schools;
- Richard Oliver, PE Teacher at Winchester Elementary; and
- Samantha Williams, Special Education Teacher at RHS.

**Andrew** Schiefer was approved as Assistant

Principal at Joseph Lane Middle School. (Mr. Schiefer rescinded his acceptance the following day.)

Jennifer Thompson was approved as Eastwood Elementary Principal.

The employment contract for Cheryl Northam, District Chief Operations Officer (COO), was renewed through school years 2018-19, 2019-20 and 2020-21. Salary/benefit increases to be commensurate with those approved for other employees.

Organization of the Board Directors Joe Garcia and Steve Patterson will be serving as newly-elected Board Chair and Vice-Chair respectively for the 2018–2019 school year.

Board members interviewed Board Position No. 2 candidates, Ms. Leah Hamilton and Ms. Micki Hall. It proved to be a most difficult choice, with Board members ultimately appointing Ms. Hall to serve through June of 2021, the remaining term of former School Board member, Daniel Endicott.

A one-year Memorandum of Agreement with OSEA Ch. 21 (classified employees) for a 3.4% increase for 2018-19 and a monthly \$1,188 benefits contribution as of Oct. 1, 2018, for eligible employees, was approved.

The 2018-19 UCC Service Provider Agreement for GED or Adult Basic Education was approved.

Policy IGBHE: Expanded Options, was approved for First Reading.

# Annual Resolutions

The following were adopted:

18-19-1: Designating Supt. Gerry C. Washburn as Clerk and Chief Operations Officer Cheryl Northam as the Deputy Clerk;

**18-19-2**: Designating Cheryl Northam, COO, Custodian of Funds and Use of Facsimile Signature and Authorization for Payment Obligations;

**18-19-3**: Designating KDP CPAs as District auditors;

18-19-4: Designating Bank of America, Wells Fargo, US Bank, Umpqua Bank, Cascade Community FCU and Oregon State Local Government Investment Pool as depositories;

**18-19-5**: Designating Dole Coalwell Attorneys as attorneys for the District;

**18-19-6**: Designating Supt. Gerry C. Washburn as the District's Elections Official;

18-19-7: Designating Cheryl Northam, COO, as Budget Officer for the District and The News Review as the newspaper for official publications; and

18-19-8: Designating Supt. Gerry C. Washburn as the District's authorized representative in applying for grant funds.

# School Board:

Joe Garcia, Chair Steve Patterson, Vice Chair Rod Cotton Micki Hall Rev. Howard Johnson Charles Lee Paul Meyer