## ROSEBURG PUBLIC SCHOOLS

## Time & Location:

The July 13, 2016, Regular School Board Meeting took place in the Administrative Office Board Room at 1419 NW Valley View Drive, Roseburg, Oregon at 6:00 p.m. immediately followed by an Executive Session



SUPERINTENDENT:

GERRY C. WASHBURN

Superintendent's **Report:** Mr. Washburn plans to attend a forestry tour hosted by the Oregon Forest Resources Institute on July 14th. New Teaching and Learning Director, Robert Emerson, is looking forward to advancing some of our digital technology and curriculum, as well as establishing a team of administrators and coordinators to enhance communication between administraand instructional Our new Human Resources Director, Robert Freeman, has also been very busy immersing himself into his new position.

Next Board Meeting: August 10, 2016 6:00 p.m. Administrative Office Board Room

## Action Items:

The School Board took action to approve the Consent Agenda that included minutes from the June 15, 2016 Board Meeting, Personnel Transactions, Gifts to the District and List of Surplus Items.

The Board voted to approve the recommendation to hire Tammy Rasmussen as Principal of Melrose Elementary.

Board members also voted to approve licensed staff employment recommendations that included:

- Jane Barrow, Special Education, LRC Teacher at Eastwood Elementary School;
- Erin Duckworth, Music Teacher at Fir Grove and Sunnyslope Elementary Schools;
- Rian Farwell, Third Grade Teacher at Winchester School;
- Tammy Laakeri, Third Grade Teacher at Winchester Elementary School (temporary for the 2016-2017school year);
- Danielle Rocco, Kindergarten Teacher at Fir Grove Elementary;
- Lori Smalley, Special Education, LRC Teacher at Green Elementary School;
- Christopher Spencer, Construction Technology Instructor at Roseburg High School;

- Bonnie Wagstaff, Kindergarten Teacher at Eastwood Elementary School;
- Danell Warmouth, First Grade Teacher at Eastwood Elementary School; and
- Lindsey Wilson, Agricultural Science Teacher at Roseburg High School.

The Board has appointed Charles Lee as Board Chairman for the 2016-2017 school year, and Daniel Endicott as Vice Chairman.

Annual Resolutions were adopted as follows:

16-17-1: Designation of Superintendent Gerry Washburn as Clerk, and Chief Operations Officer Cheryl Northam as Deputy Clerk;

**16-17-2:** Designation of Cheryl Northam, COO, as Custodian of Funds, and Use of Facsimile Signature, and Authorization for Payment Obligations;

**16-17-3:** Designation of KDCO Piels, CPAs, LLP as District Auditors;

**16-17-4:** Designation of Depositories;

16-17-5: Designation of Dole, Coalwell, Clark, Mountainspring and Mornarich, P.C. as the Attorneys for the school district;

**16-17-6:** Designation of Superintendent Gerry C. Washburn as the Election Official;

16-17-7: Designation of Cheryl Northam, COO, as Budget Officer of the District, and The News Review as the newspaper for official publications and notices; and

16:17-8: Designation of Superintendent Gerry Washburn as the District's authorized representative in applying for grant funds.

The Board accepted resignations from Shannon Belson, School Psychologist, after six years in the District: Kim George. Fourth Grade Teacher at Fir Grove Elementary after 18 years in the District; David Hanson, Asst. Superintendent/HR, after 12 years in the District; Harmony Klingenmeyer, Elementary Music Teacher at Sunnyslope and Fir Grove Elementary Schools after one year; Drew Mabey, Health and Wellness Teacher Fremont Middle School after one year; Dustin Pires, Special Education Teacher in the DLC at Fremont after three years; and retirement of Rhonda Sprague. Fremont Middle School Counselor after 20 years in the District.

School Board:
Charles Lee, Chair
Dan Endicott, Vice Chair
Rodney Cotton
Joseph Garcia
Rev. Howard Johnson
Paul Meyer
Steve Patterson