

William Floyd Union Free School District

of the MASTICS - MORICHES - SHIRLEY

Our rich history builds a promising future!

Kevin M. Coster **Superintendent of Schools**

December 12, 2019

The Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo Governor of New York State NY State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Dear Governor Cuomo & Members of the NYS Senate and Assembly:

At our December 10, 2019, meeting, the William Floyd Board of Education adopted a sense resolution opposing amendments to Section 2164 of the public health law, which adds immunizations against the Human Papillomavirus (HPV) to the list of vaccinations required to attend public school. There are corresponding bills in both the Senate and Assembly mandating the vaccine (S00298/A02912) and others allowing minor children to receive the vaccination without parental consent (S3899A/A973A) and (S4244B/A6564C), which we are also expressing our opposition to.

As you know, HPV is non-communicable in a school setting and, according to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) is only spread through intimate sexual contact; the behaviors that spread HPV are not and should not be occurring on school grounds. Therefore, HPV is not a public health risk in a school setting.

While we are not challenging that the vaccination may be helpful in preventing certain forms of cancer, the choice as to whether to have children vaccinated for HPV should be made only by the parents in consultation with their physician. It is a personal and moral choice and should remain one for parents only, as they are in the best position to make healthcare decisions regarding their children.

We feel this proposed unfunded mandate is unnecessary and will have a devastating impact on school districts throughout the state with many families turning to homeschooling and some leaving the state altogether. We have heard from many of our residents, who have made it clear in no uncertain terms, that they will not tolerate this and will homeschool or move to a state that is less restrictive when it comes to parental healthcare decision-making. This government overreach into parental choices regarding healthcare takes away parents' decisions to choose what is best for them personally, and, deprives children of a public education by virtue of a good-faith parental opposition to this vaccination.

Since HPV is not a public health risk in a school setting and because parents should have direct decisions over the healthcare of their children, we implore you to immediately withdraw these bills

from consideration. If these bills pass, it will preclude many thousands of children from access to a public education across the state, and, could have devastating results on the future of New York.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Vecchio President, Board of Education

/ms

cc: The Honorable Andrew Cuomo, Governor, State of New York

The Honorable Kenneth P. LaValle, Senator, 1st District

The Honorable John J. Flanagan, Senator, 2nd District

The Honorable Monica Martinez, Senator, 3rd District

The Honorable Phil Boyle, Senator, 4th District

The Honorable James Gaughran, Senator, 5th District

The Honorable Kevin Thomas, Senator, 6th District

The Honorable Anna M. Kaplan, Senator, 7th District

The Honorable John E. Brooks, Senator, 8th District

The Honorable Todd Kaminsky, Senator, 9th District

The Honorable James Sanders Jr., Senator, 10th District

The Honorable Toby Ann Stavisky, Senator, 16th District

The Honorable Zellnor Myrie, Senator, 20th District

The Honorable Kevin S. Parker, Senator, 21st District

The Honorable Brad Hoylman, Senator, 27th District

The Honorable Liz Kreuger, Senator, 28th District

The Honorable Jose M. Serrano, Senator, 29th District

The Honorable Luis R. Sepulveda, Senator, 32nd District

The Honorable Gustavo Rivera, Senator, 33rd District, Chair, Health Committee

The Honorable Alessandra Biaggi, Senator, 34th District

The Honorable Jamaal T. Bailey, Senator, 36th District

The Honorable Shelley B. Mayer, Senator, 37th District, Chair, Education Committee

The Honorable Fred W. Thiele Jr., Member of Assembly, District 1

The Honorable Anthony Palumbo, Member of Assembly, District 2

The Honorable Joe DeStefano, Member of Assembly, District 3

The Honorable Steven Englebright, Member of Assembly, District 4

The Honorable Doug Smith, Member of Assembly, District 5

The Honorable Philip R. Ramos, Member of Assembly, District 6

The Honorable Andrew R. Garbarino, Member of Assembly, District 7

The Honorable Michael J. Fitzpatrick, Member of Assembly, District 8

The Honorable Michael LiPetri, Member of Assembly, District 9

The Honorable Steve Stern, Member of Assembly, District 10

The Honorable Kimberly Jean-Pierre, Member of Assembly, District 11

The Honorable Andrew P. Raia, Member of Assembly, District 12

The Honorable Charles D. Lavine, Member of Assembly, District 13

The Honorable David D. McDonough, Member of Assembly, District 14

The Honorable Michael Montesano, Member of Assembly, District 15

The Honorable Anthony D'Urso, Member of Assembly, District 16

The Honorable John K. Mikulin, Member of Assembly, District 17

The Honorable Taylor Darling, Member of Assembly, District 18

The Honorable Edward P. Ra, Member of Assembly, District 19

The Honorable Melissa Miller, Member of Assembly, District 20

The Honorable Andrew Hevesi, Member of Assembly, District 28

The Honorable Catalina Cruz, Member of Assembly, District 39

The Honorable Felix W. Ortiz, Member of Assembly, District 51

The Honorable Jo Anne Simon, Member of Assembly, District 52

The Honorable Walter T. Mosley, Member of Assembly, District 57

The Honorable Jaime R. Williams, Member of Assembly, District 59

The Honorable Deborah Glick, Member of Assembly, District 66

The Honorable Linda B. Rosenthal, Member of Assembly, District 67

The Honorable Inez E. Dickens, Member of Assembly, District 70

The Honorable Harvey Epstein, Member of Assembly, District 74

The Hon. Richard N. Gottfried, Member of Assembly, District 75, Chair, Assembly Health Committee

The Honorable Jeffrey Dinowitz, Member of Assembly, District 81

The Hon. Michael Benedetto, Member of Assembly, District 82, Chair, Assembly Education Committee

The Honorable Amy Paulin, Member of Assembly, District 88

The Honorable Ellen C. Jaffee, Member of Assembly, District 97

The Honorable Aileen M. Gunther, Member of Assembly, District 100

The Honorable John T. McDonald III, Member of Assembly, District 108

The Honorable Patricia Fahy, Member of Assembly, District 109

The Honorable Barbara Lifton, Member of Assembly, District 125

The Honorable William Magnarelli, Member of Assembly, District 129

The Honorable Patrick Burke, Member of Assembly, District 142

The Honorable Monica P. Wallace, Member of Assembly, District 143

