

NORWICH FREE ACADEMY

NORWICH FREE ACADEMY CORPORATION ANNUAL CORPORATOR MEETING MINUTES NOVEMBER 1, 2018

- Corporators present: Michael Aliano; John Bilda; Diana Boisclair; Steven Bokoff; Allyn Brown, III; Linda Bruce; Peter Calvert; Hugh Campbell; James Chadic; Carol Cieslukowski; Betsy Conway; Barbara Dombrowski; Irene Donovan; Michael Driscoll; Neusa Fernandes; Keith Fontaine; Louis Fusaro, Sr.; Lee-Ann Gomes; Thomas Griffin; Shiela Hayes; DeVol Joyner; Denise Lindell; Stephen McShane; Richard Morelli; Theodore Phillips, II; Todd Postler; Michael Rauh; Robert Reed; Cheryl Ritacco; Leah Rubega; Bart Sayet; Scott Seder; Patricia Stuart; Wilma Sullivan; William Sweeney; Miriam Torres-Thorburn; Daniel Tracy; Mark Tramontozzi; Ramindra Walia; William Warzecha; David Whitehead; Aimee Wickless; Sarette Williams; Mark Woods
- Also present: Corporator Candidates: Angela Adams, Christopher Jewell, Regan Miner, Maria Miranda, Andrew Nollman, Susan Portugal, Fannie Stokes, and John Sweeney. NFA Staff: Head of School David Klein and Director of Finance Cyndee Finger

Chair Sarette Williams called the meeting to order at 4:40 p.m. After welcoming all Corporators, Ms. Williams read the Motion of 1975.

- 1. **Motion** by Mr. Joyner, seconded by Mr. Chadic, to approve the minutes of November 2, 2017, Annual Meeting of the Corporators. **Motion carried**.
- 2. a. Corporators to elect new corporators:

Chair Williams presented the following new corporator candidates:

Angela Adams Bryan Hayes Christopher Jewell Regan Miner Maria Miranda Andrew Nollman Susan Portugal Fannie Stokes John Sweeney

- b. Corporators whose terms are up for renewal to serve another three years: Hugh Campbell Glenn Carberry John Mathieu Thomas McAvoy Todd Postler Ravi Prakash Leah Rubega William Sweeney Miriam Torres-Thorburn Mark Tramontozzi Ramindra Walia David Whitehead Aimee Wickless
- c. Corporators to elect and renew Trustees of Norwich Free Academy: Diana Boisclair William Warzecha DeVol Joyner Sarette Williams Denise Lindell

Motion by Mr. Rauh, seconded by Mr. Postler, to add new Corporators, to renew terms of existing Corporators, and to renew Trustees of Norwich Free Academy. **Motion carried**.

- 3. Corporation Reports:
 - a. The Corporators received reports from the following:

PROVIDING OPPORTUNITIES... PREPARING LIVES

1. Norwich Free Academy—S. Williams

Ms. Williams reported about some recent unforeseeable events and the need for improvements to ensure that NFA continues to stand as a marvel of technology and beauty for many more decades.

Ms. Williams thanked the Corporators, fellow Board Members, and Head of School David Klein for the support shown during 2017-18.

Ms. Williams requested the Media to please excuse themselves for Items 2 & 3.

2. Norwich Free Academy Foundation—K. Fontaine

Mr. Fontaine reported on the activity of the Foundation during 2017-18. The Foundation's objective is to support an independently governed, privately endowed NFA.

Mr. Fontaine thanked the following: Director of Institutional Advancement Kathy McCarthy and her team, Foundation Board of Directors, and those who volunteered their services to the Foundation throughout the 2017-18 year.

3. Investment Report—C. Finger

Ms. Finger addressed the Foundation's endowment and investments for 2017-18.

Ms. Williams welcomed the media back for the remainder of the meeting.

4. Head of School Report—D. Klein

Mr. Klein welcomed everyone and briefed the Corporators on events during the 2017-18 School Year focusing on the following:

- Meeting Basic Human Needs
- Social/Emotional Wellness
- Academic Support Initiatives for All Students
- NFA as a Loyal Community & Regional Partner
- NFA's Plan for the 2019-2020 School Year

 School-to-Work Initiative being a significant focus on Campus moving forward

Mr. Klein thanked the Corporators for everything they do publicly and privately to support and perpetuate NFA's legacy of excellence.

5. Other Business

With there being no other business, Mr. Klein and Ms. Williams presented pewter plates to those corporators reaching the status of honorary: Peter Calvert, Michael Driscoll, Lesley Mitchell Jones, Benjamin Lathrop.

Motion by Mr. Postler, seconded by Mr. Chadic, to adjourn the meeting at 6:01 p.m. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Lynda Kulos Recorder

Approved: 11/7/19

PROVIDING OPPORTUNITIES... PREPARING LIVES