

Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees August 14, 2018

Dee Anne Thomson, president of the Board of Trustees, called the meeting to order and led the pledges to the American and Texas flags. Carol Williams, principal of La Porte Elementary School, gave the invocation.

Recognitions

The Board recognized Leo A. Rizzuto Elementary School and Lomax Elementary School for being named to the 2017-18 Education Results Partnership Honor Roll for high achievement and student success. The program, sponsored by the Institute for Productivity in Education, is part of a national effort to identify higher-performing schools and districts that are improving student outcomes. The two schools received recognition for demonstrating consistent high levels of student academic achievement, improvement in achievement levels over time, and a reduction in achievement gaps among student populations. Deanna Narcisse and Patricia Herrera-Johnson are the principals of Leo A. Rizzuto Elementary and Lomax Elementary, respectively.

Heritage Elementary School was also recognized for being named to the list of 2018 Schools Transforming Learning by the Principals' Institute. Heritage is among only 31 campuses statewide, including 21 elementary schools, to receive this elite status. The recognition is for schools that are making exceptional strides on their journeys to provide innovative learning opportunities for all students. Alumni or participants of the Principals' Institute, a statewide professional development program for campus leaders, must also lead each of the qualifying campuses. Heritage principal Grisel Wallace is a 2013-14 Principals' Institute alumna.

Superintendent's Reports

Superintendent Lloyd W. Graham led district administrators in presenting campus and departmental reports related to the 2018 start of school. Administrators provided information on the school calendar, new school hours, lunch visitation procedures, safety and security, communications, transportation, nutrition, fine arts, athletics, construction and other topics related to the new school year. Principals from all campuses provided updates on enrollment, staffing, and other topics of interest. Mr. Graham also presented information on 2018 accountability ratings.

Board Action

In other action, the Board:

- heard comments from parents regarding new lunch visitation procedures, safety, and other concerns.
- approved the minutes of the June 12, 2018, and June 19, 2018, Board meetings.
- received the Quarterly Investment Report for June 2018.
- received financial reports for July 2018.
- received TASB Board Policy Update 111 affecting Local Policies BBD, CAA, CJA, DEA, DHE, DI and FEA.
- received report for cooperative fees paid by La Porte ISD.
- approved budget amendments for 2018-19.
- approved 2018-19 Texas Teacher Evaluation and Support System (T-TESS) Appraisal Calendar and T-TESS List of Teacher Appraisers.
- approved partnership agreement for Communities in Schools for VOCA and CIS programs.
- approved proposal for special education transition services and authorized Superintendent or designee to negotiate and execute a contract.
- approved response to BETA Academy School Statement of Impact Amendment.
- received notice of the employment of professional staff, including teachers Jimmy • Henderson, Jennifer Humphreys, Heather Neumann, Nancy Robinson and Heidi Trotta, Bayshore Elementary; Aaron Arriazola, Jennie Reid Elementary; Amy Denny, Lomax Elementary; Julie Reed, La Porte Elementary; Gloria Gonzalez, Leo A. Rizzuto Elementary: Christine Hughes and Kristin Rickner, James H. Baker Sixth Grade Campus; Mary Blocker, Lisa Breaux, Diana Davis and Michelle Jackson, La Porte Junior High; Christopher Bartels, Austin Batson, Bitsy Cotter, Brittany Mancias, Danielle Morris, Melissa Thorn, Morgan Waller and Amy Wilson, Lomax Junior High; William Ater, Michele Baker, Amber Boone, Laura Dykstra, Douglas Eger, Benito Galvan, Alexander Gonzalez, Adam Meadows, Megan Morris, Michael Perry and Michael Pyeatt, La Porte High School; and Kristen Cloud, DAEP. The list also included Ericka Ross, ARD facilitator, Special Programs; Jennifer Muschweck, counselor, La Porte High School; Maria Garza, assistant principal, Bayshore Elementary; and JuleeAnna Lee, assistant principal, La Porte High School.
- adopted Resolution 2018-14 for EIF (Regulation) to consider alternative graduation requirements.
- approved request for proposal for commercial/residential real estate brokerage services and authorized Superintendent or designee to negotiate and execute a contract.
- supported Georgan Reitmeier for TASB Board of Directors, Region 4, Position A.
- supported Steven Dennis for TASB Board of Directors, Region 4, Position C