

La Porte ISD Board of Trustees Board Meeting Highlights

Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees July 24, 2012

The July 24, 2012, meeting of the La Porte ISD Board of Trustees was called to order at 7:30 p.m. Following the Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas flags, Jewel Whitfield, executive director of elementary education, gave the invocation.

Superintendent's Reports

- Mike Clausen, assistant superintendent, presented a report on the Safe and Secure Schools safety audit.
- Superintendent Lloyd Graham presented an update on the district's property and casualty coverage.

Board Action

The Board took the following action:

- unanimously authorized Board President Kathy Green to sign the new five-year contract of Superintendent Lloyd Graham consistent with the Board's action on June 19.
- approved the application for a property value limitation pursuant to the Texas Economic Development Act Chapter 313 Tax Code by Oxiteno USA, LLC, to include establishing a fee for application.
- approved the minutes of the June 12, 2012, regular meeting and the June 19, 2012, special meeting.
- received financial reports for June 2012.
- approved the employment of teachers Jennifer Arisco, Lomax Junior High; Abbie Bourgeois, Bayshore Elementary; Brittany Connally, Lomax Junior High; Kristi Cooper, La Porte Elementary; Ashley DeLong, Baker Sixth Grade Campus; Alvina Rodriguez, Rizzuto Elementary; Brittany Doyal, Lomax Junior High; Amanda Dreumont, Heritage Elementary; Alicia Ferguson, College Park Elementary; Kevin Ford, La Porte High School; Andy Linder, Lomax Junior High; Lauren Hyde, Bayshore Elementary; Sarah Marceaux, Lomax Junior High; Kurt Marek, La Porte High School; Ryan Melancon, La Porte Junior High; Sheri Mohle, La Porte Elementary; Cruz Montanez, La Porte High School; Chris Parker, La Porte Junior High; Rosemarie Partridge, Heritage Elementary; Pam Polansky, Lomax Junior High; Brandi Raines, Lomax Elementary; Ruth Reynaga, Rizzuto Elementary; Cori Ripley, Heritage Elementary; Bryan Sutherland, La Porte Junior High; Shawn Williamson, La Porte Junior High; Amber Zigler, Jennie Reid Elementary; counselor La Greta Arrington, La Porte High School, and Tikeela Evans-Johnson, Lomax Junior High; educational diagnostician Kimberlee Carlson; and director of visual and performing arts Matthew Burke.
- approved Isela Montes, executive director of human resources, as Title IX Coordinator.
- waived the first reading and approved the second reading and adoption of TASB Update 94 affecting FFAF (LOCAL).

- approved the 2012-13 Student Code of Conduct.
- approved the agreement to participate in the Houston Consortium.
- reviewed and approved the investment policy, investment officer resolution, and list of authorized broker/dealers as presented.
- approved the Investment Training Provide Resolution as presented.
- approved the Memorandum of Understanding for Harris County Department of Education's Area 1 Head Start program.
- approved the 2012-13 Harris County Community Youth Services Interlocal Contract.
- rejected the agreement for an advertising and marketing program on district school buses and facilities.
- approved the proposal for Rizzuto Elementary gymnasium roof replacement.
- approved the proposal and purchase for landscape and grounds care maintenance services.