

La Porte ISD Board of Trustees Board Meeting Highlights

Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees June 11, 2013

The meeting was called to order by Kathy Green, president of the Board of Trustees. Following the pledges to the American and Texas flags, the invocation was given by Grisel Wallace, principal of Heritage Elementary School.

Reorganization of the Board

The Board of Trustees elected Kathy Green as president, Dee Anne Thomson as vice president, and Charleya Wheeler as secretary for 2013-2014.

Superintendent's Reports

 Dr. Linda Wadleigh, deputy superintendent, presented a report on the preliminary 2013 STAAR results.

Public Hearing

Rhonda Cumbie, chief financial officer, made a presentation on the 2013-2014 budget. The Board then held a public hearing to discuss the budget for 2013-2014 and proposed tax rate for 2013.

In other action, the Board:

- heard information about the title of the historic De Walt School site on 5th Street from Superintendent Lloyd Graham.
- approved the minutes of the May 14, 2013, regular Board meeting and the May 21, 2013, special/workshop meeting.
- received the principals' reports from all LPISD campuses.
- received the financial reports for May 2013.
- approved the budget amendment for June 2013.
- received the report of cooperative fees paid by La Porte ISD.
- approved Board Resolution #2013-11, amending Tex Pool Authorized Representatives.
- received TASB Policy Update 97, affecting local policies CNA, DBAA, and DPB.
- approved the 2013-2014 budget.
- approved the 2013 property tax rate of \$1.33 per \$100 of assessed valuation (Board Resolution #2013-12).
- approved the 2013-2014 Compensation Plan.
- approved the Education Service Center Region 10 Interlocal Contract for Retirement Asset Management Services (RAMS).
- approved an extension of 60 days to the 151-day time period for board action on application of Equistar Chemicals, LP, for a Limitation on Appraised Value of Property for School District Maintenance and Operation Taxes and Resolution #2013-13, regarding the same.
- approved the employment of teachers Kenda Adkins, La Porte High School; Haley Beaubouef, Rizzuto Elementary; Araceli Castrellon, Heritage Elementary; Laura Cayon-Gonzales, Heritage Elementary; Kadie Eng, Baker Sixth Grade Campus; Kristi Feise,

College Park Elementary; Brandi Gabriel, Lomax Junior High; Deborah Gardner, Baker Sixth Grade Campus; Meridith Halbardier, Bayshore Elementary; Daniel Lopez, La Porte High School; Mark Nichols, La Porte High School; Lindsay Pavlow, La Porte High School; April Peterson, Bayshore Elementary; Kyra Thorne, La Porte High School; Stephanie Vega, Jennie Reid Elementary; Gowrie Vezey, La Porte High School; Stephanie Williams, College Park Elementary; Kristen Zucha, La Porte High School; counselor Jill Howells, Lomax Junior High; speech pathologist Mia Evans, Special Education; licensed specialist in school psychology Jennifer Grimm, Special Education; and assistant principal Chris Viator, Lomax Junior High.

- approved the transfer of title of a single lot (Lot 24, in Block 719, Town of La Porte) to the
 City of La Porte, with the city incurring any and all transfer fees and Board President Kathy
 Green authorized to execute any and all necessary documentation for transfer of the lot.
- approved the response to the Charter School Statement of Impact Amendment for Harmony School of Science Houston.
- approved the 2013-2014 purchases/encumbrances over \$50,000.