

# La Porte ISD Board of Trustees Board Meeting Highlights

# Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees May 9, 2017

Dee Anne Thomson, president of the La Porte ISD Board of Trustees, called the meeting to order. Members of the La Porte High School JROTC presented the colors and led the pledges to the American and Texas flags. The invocation was given by Donna Spaugh, principal at Bayshore Elementary School.

## Recognitions

The Board recognized Ryan Schoppe, La Porte High School freshman, who qualified for the May 12 state track meet in Austin. With a time of 9:28, Ryan placed second in the regional 3200-meter race at Challenger Columbia Stadium in Clear Creek ISD on April 28 to qualify for state.

The Board also recognized the 13 La Porte ISD educators who were chosen by their peers as 2018 Campus Teachers of the Year. Elementary honorees are Shelby Slate, Bayshore; Krista Stutz, College Park; Brian Fournier, Heritage; Crystal St. Lucie, La Porte; Cecilia Diaz, Lomax; Kelli Spaugh, Jennie Reid; and Stefanie Nowlin, Leo A. Rizzuto. Secondary school honorees are Debra Navarro, James H. Baker Sixth Grade Campus; Marissa Keim, La Porte Junior High School; Andrea Berg, Lomax Junior High School; Kelly Cyr, Viola DeWalt High School; Cheryl Christen, La Porte High School Core Areas; and Justin Myers, La Porte High School Non-Core Areas. The announcement of the District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year will be made at the June 1 Service Awards celebration to be held at Heritage Elementary School.

Following the recognition of the Teachers of the Year, the Board recognized Camilla Whitlock, principal of College Park Elementary School, and Candace Pohl, principal of La Porte Junior High School, who were chosen by their colleagues as Principals of the Year. They were honored at the Principal Recognition Dinner sponsored by Region 4 Education Service Center earlier this spring.

### Superintendent's Reports

Rhonda Cumbie, chief financial officer, presented a preliminary budget and tax base report.

### **Board Action**

In other action, the Board:

- approved the minutes of the April 11, 2017, regular Board meeting.
- received principals' reports for all La Porte ISD campuses.
- received financial reports for April 2017.

- approved the employment of professional staff, including teachers Casey Dixon and Meagan Gomez, Bayshore Elementary; Kim Reedy, La Porte Junior High School; and Jaime Arizpe, La Porte High School.
- approved the response to the Charter School Statement for the International Leadership of Texas Charter School.
- approved second reading and adoption of TASB Policy Update 107 affecting local policies CDC, CJ, DC, DEE, DFAA, DFBA, DFCA, FEA, FJ and GE.
- approved the purchase of furniture for La Porte High School.
- approved the posting of a Called Meeting on May 16, 2017, at 8 a.m. and establishing a quorum for the purpose of canvassing the May 6, 2017, general election.
- approved the purchase of classroom interactive projectors for La Porte High School classroom renovations.
- approved a change order for the purchase of grocery products for the remainder of the 2016-2017 school year.
- approved Option 3 Agreement for the purchase of attendance credits.
- approved probationary, term and non-certified contract recommendations for certified teachers and admin/professional pay grades 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7.
- adopted Resolution 2017-10 determining eligibility of Equistar Chemicals, LP, for tax credit and approved the request for additional state aid for ad valorem tax credit.
- approved the termination of the probationary contract and employment of a teacher.