

Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees May 8, 2018

The meeting was called to order by Dee Anne Thomson, president of the Board of Trustees. Members of the La Porte High School JROTC presented the colors and led the pledges to the American and Texas flags. Grisel Wallace, principal of Heritage Elementary School, gave the invocation.

Recognitions

The Board of Trustees recognized La Porte ISD art students who earned honors for their artwork this year. Kayleigh Bland, a sophomore at LPHS, advanced to the state Visual Arts Scholastic Event (VASE) in San Marcos, where she received a gold medal and a rating of 4, the highest in her division at state. Kayleigh's artwork also was chosen for the La Porte ISD holiday card. She is the student of Christina Todaro.

Six LPISD students advanced to the 2018 Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Art Contest after winning awards at the district contest. Tyler Harmon, fifth grader at College Park Elementary, won Elementary Best of Show; she is the student of Jennifer Barker and Melanie Cano. Dylan Dostalik, fifth grader at La Porte Elementary School, won the Elementary Gold Medal; he is the student of Janie Reyes and Shannon Fanning.

In the junior high Rodeo Art competition, La Porte Junior High School eighth grader Angie Morales, the student of Amanda Mattox, won Best of Show. Lomax Junior High School eighth grader Angelique Guillen, the student of Yaravi Barrasa, won the Junior High Gold Medal. In the senior high division, La Porte High School senior Joanna Munoz won Best of Show, and La Porte High School junior Jhoana Lopez won the Gold Medal. They are also students of Christina Todaro.

The Board also recognized 2019 Campus Teachers of the Year. Elementary honorees and their schools include Meredith Halbardier, Bayshore; Angela Weldon, College Park; Cori Ripley, Heritage; Julie Spears, La Porte; Michael Peralez, Lomax; Melissa Khoury, Jennie Reid; and Nicole Kendrick, Leo A. Rizzuto. Secondary school honorees are Ashley DeLong, James H. Baker Sixth Grade Campus; Kelli Juersivich, La Porte Junior High School; Kacey Sommers, Lomax Junior High School; Cindy Williams, Viola DeWalt High School; Nicole Manning, La Porte High School Core Areas; and Lisa Boussattach, La Porte High School Non-Core Areas.

Carol Williams, principal of La Porte Elementary School, was recognized as La Porte ISD's Principal of the Year. She was nominated by the Superintendent's Cabinet to be honored through the Region 4 Principal Recognition Program.

Swearing-In Ceremony

Ruth Lynd, administrative assistant to the Superintendent and Board of Trustees, administered the oath of office to trustees Lee Wallace and David Janda, who were unopposed for Positions 4 and 5, respectively, on the Board.

Superintendent's Reports

La Porte ISD Superintendent Lloyd W. Graham gave a report on the Texas Education Agency holding the district harmless for days missed due to Hurricane Harvey.

Carlin Grammer, principal at La Porte High School, presented reports on La Porte High School graduation and STAAR/End of Course English I and II participation.

Board Action

In other action, the Board:

- heard public comments from citizens and students regarding the dual language program at Leo A. Rizzuto Elementary School and proposed school hours for 2018-19.
- approved the minutes of the April 10, 2018, meeting of the Board of Trustees.
- received principals' reports from all La Porte ISD campuses.
- received financial reports for April 2018.
- received a Human Resources report.
- adopted Resolution No. 2018-7 to not appropriate funds for the subscriber license agreement providing student data analytics tools.
- approved the employment of professional staff, including Phyllis Chapman, bilingual speech language pathologist, Special Programs; Joseph Taylor, strength and conditioning coach, La Porte High School; and Earnest Brooks, Jr., principal at La Porte Junior High School.
- approved the purchase of state adopted instructional materials for grades K-8 science and 6-8 mathematics.
- approved receipt, first reading, second reading and adoption of TASB Local Policy DCA (LOCAL).
- approved receipt, first reading, second reading and adoption of TASB Local Policy DEC (LOCAL).
- approved second reading and adoption of TASB Policy Update 110 affecting Local Policy BBB (LOCAL).
- approved the 2018-19 Harris County Department of Education Academic and Behavior Schools (ABS) East Interlocal Contract.
- adopted Resolution 2018-08 to sell property owned by the district at or above fair market value, as determined by recent appraisals performed by JLL.
- approved probationary, term and non-certified contract recommendations for certified teachers and administrators/professionals in pay grades 1-5.
- approved the Option 3 agreement for the purchase of attendance credits.
- authorized Superintendent Graham to approve the hiring of contract professionals of principal level or below on the district's pay scale from May 9, 2018, to Aug. 14, 2018.
- determined the number of 2018 inaugural honorees for the La Porte ISD Distinguished Alumni and Distinguished Citizens Awards Program.
- named the La Porte ISD multipurpose center as LPISD Bulldog Centre.