

La Porte ISD Board of Trustees Board Meeting Highlights

Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees April 8, 2014

The meeting was called to order by Kathy Green, president of the Board of Trustees. The La Porte High School JROTC presented the colors and led the pledges to the American and Texas flags. Vickie Gentile, principal of Bayshore Elementary School, gave the invocation.

Recognitions

The Board recognized La Porte High School seniors Samantha Oliphint and Thomas Hootman, who have been named the valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively, of the LPHS Class of 2014.

In addition, the Board honored winners who advanced to and/or won at the State SkillsUSA competition in Corpus Christi March 27 through 29. Josh Troup won first place and Mitchell Legg earned second in the automotive tool identification category; this is the second year in a row that La Porte ISD has brought home the top two awards in this category. In addition, Mitchell Legg and Andrew Vasquez both received "Superior" blue ribbon awards for their automotive component projects, while Josh Troup and Joshua Martinez earned "Excellence" red ribbon awards for their efforts. Amber Wilborn also advanced to state after winning top awards at the district contest Feb. 22 and 23 at San Jacinto College. In collision and refinishing estimation, the team of Ethan Oliphant and Dalton Martin won first place at state after also winning first place in team repair estimating at the district contest. Other students who advanced to state after earning top honors at the district competition are Xavian Henry and Casey Sullins, who won second place in team repair estimating.

Winners of the La Porte ISD Rodeo Art Show were also recognized. These students advanced to the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Art Show after earning Best of Show or gold medals at the district level. La Porte High School junior Sarah Pilkinton, high school Best of Show winner for the third consecutive year, was recognized for winning a \$2,000 award for her three-dimensional sculpture entry. Other Best of Show winners include Hailey Sheffield, eighth grader at Lomax Junior High School, and Alexis Guerrero, fifth grader at Bayshore Elementary. District gold medalists were Corey Roehrick, sophomore at LPHS; Caitlin Yarborough, junior at LPHS; Makayla Malecki, seventh grader at Lomax Junior High School; and Alejandro Solis, fifth grader at Rizzuto Elementary School. In addition, for the second consecutive year, La Porte ISD was one of 23 districts to earn a Super Show award at the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Art Program presentation.

In other action, the Board:

- heard from a citizen regarding the May 10, 2014, election.
- discussed the May 10, 2014, bond election process and calendar, with the Administration and Board's general counsel, David Thompson, making a presentation to the group.

- approved the minutes of the March 25, 2014 regular Board meeting.
- received principals' reports from all La Porte ISD campuses.
- received financial reports for March 2014.
- approved budget amendments for April 2014 as presented.
- approved first reading of TASB Policy Update 99 affecting local policies BDD, BP, CFEA, CK, DAC, EHDC, FFF and FFH.
- approved student lunch prices for 2014-2015.
- approved the State Adopted List of Instructional Materials under Proclamation 2014.
- approved Board Resolution 2014-04 for Schools and Libraries Universal Services (E-Rate) for 2014-2015.
- approved term and non-certified contract recommendations for certified teachers and administrators/professionals in pay grades 1, 2, 3 and 4.
- approved the 2014-2015 Harris County Department of Education Academic Behavior Center (ABC) Inter-local Contract.
- approved disposal of obsolete school property.