BARRE SUPERVISORY UNION NEGOTIATIONS COMMITTEE

November 29, 2018 Meeting Minutes

Committee members present:

Tim Boltin, representing Spaulding Union High School District Jay Paterson, representing Barre Town School District (arrived at 6:51 p.m.) Sonya Spaulding, representing Barre City School District

Committee members absent:

None

Administrators present:

John Pandolfo, Superintendent of Schools Carol Marold, Human Resources Coordinator

Guests present:

none

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 6:15 p.m. in the BSU Upstairs Conference area.

2. Revisions to Agenda

Two items were added to the agenda:

- Committee organization
- Approval of previous minutes

3. Visitors and Communication

There were no visitors or communications.

4. Committee Organization

By consensus, the committee appointed Tim Boltin as the Chair and Jay Paterson as the Vice-Chair.

5. Approval of Previous Minutes

By consensus, the committee approved the minutes from the following meetings:

- September 25, 2017
- October 25, 2017
- November 30, 2017
- January 22, 2018

6. <u>Negotiation Planning</u>

On a motion by Mrs. Spaulding, seconded by Mr. Boltin, the Committee unanimously agreed to find that premature general public knowledge of the items proposed for discussion (deliberate planning and strategy related to Labor Relations Agreements) would clearly place the Barre Supervisory Union at a substantial disadvantage should the discussion be public.

On a motion by Mrs. Spaulding, seconded by Mr. Boltin, the Committee unanimously voted to enter into Executive Session, with the Superintendent andHR Coordinatorin attendance, at 6:25 p.m. under the provisions of 1 VSA section 313 to discuss the items proposed for discussion.

The committee held a deliberate planning and strategy session related to teacher and paraeducator negotiations.

On a motion by Mr. Paterson, seconded by Mrs. Spaulding, the Committee unanimously voted to exit Executive Session at 8:00 p.m.

7. Adjourn

On a motion by Mrs. Spaulding, seconded by Mr. Paterson, the Committee unanimously voted to adjourn at 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, John Pandolfo