Maine School of Science and Mathematics Board of Trustees Wednesday, October 19, 2022 6:00 pm VIRTUAL MEETING ONLY <u>MINUTES</u>

Meeting was called to order and a quorum was declared at 6:03 pm.

Attendance:

Voting Board Members: Joe Siddiqui, Ray Rice, Marian Reagan, David King, Daniel Chuhta, Stephanie Dolan, Brent Berwin, Trey Cox, Paul Stancioff, Craig Cunnigham, Joel Pike, Sadhana Prasad, Timothy Beaulieu, Trynitee Fallon

Non-Voting Board Members: Dr. Eustis-Grandy

Also attending was Executive Director Sam Critchlow, Ryan McDonald, Millie Rhodes, Cindy Berube

After introductions Public Comments were opened by the Board Chair.

Public Comments were made by both Department Chair, Millie Rhodes and Cindy Berube on the importance of finding a New Executive Director who will help heal the place we call MSSM.ge, wondering if the Board of Trustees cares about the burdens they have taken on to keep the student programs running. Major areas of discontent surround academic building safety and janitorial services, teaching loads, compensation, recognition and other issues. Disappointed that the Board Workshop focused on a solar project and not solving some of these more pressing issues.

Sam Chritchlow was then given the opportunity to give comments to the Board. S.C. expressed his Thanks to everyone and is not leaving due to unhappiness he was sought out and its an opportunity he can not turn down. He is going to help the school finish the year strong by helping with finances in Augusta and willing to help with search for the New Executive Director.

BOT Chair Joe Siddiqui, thanked Sam for everything and is grateful that Sam is going to push MSSM through the remainder of the year.

A motion to go into executive session pursuant to Title 1 Sec. 405, 6A was made by Marian Reagan, and seconded by David King. A roll call vote was taken and was unanimous in favor of the motion.

Executive Session was entered into at 6:20 pm.